Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## 中國工商銀行股份有限公司

## INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL BANK OF CHINA LIMITED

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1398)

## ANNOUNCEMENT IN RELATION TO INCREASE IN SHAREHOLDING OF THE BANK BY HULJIN

Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited (the "Bank") received a letter from its shareholder, Central Huijin Investment Ltd. ("Huijin"), on 10 October 2012. Huijin notified the Bank that it has increased its shareholding in the Bank on 10 October 2012 by 4,733,539 A shares through on-market purchase of such shares on the Shanghai Stock Exchange. Before the increase in the shareholding, Huijin held 123,768,690,196 A shares in the Bank, representing approximately 35.43% of the Bank's total issued share capital. After the increase in the shareholding, Huijin held 123,773,423,735 A shares in the Bank, representing approximately 35.43% of the Bank's total issued share capital.

Huijin notified the Bank that it intends to continue to increase, in its own capacity, its shareholding in the Bank by acquiring shares from the secondary market within the next 6 months, commencing from the date of this increase in shareholding.

The Board of Directors of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited

Beijing, the PRC 12 October 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors comprises Mr. JIANG Jianqing, Mr. YANG Kaisheng, Ms. WANG Lili and Mr. LI Xiaopeng as executive directors, Mr. HUAN Huiwu, Ms. WANG Xiaoya, Ms. GE Rongrong, Mr. LI Jun, Mr. WANG Xiaolan and Mr. YAO Zhongli as non-executive directors, Mr. XU Shanda, Mr. WONG Kwong Shing, Frank, Sir Malcolm Christopher McCARTHY, Mr. Kenneth Patrick CHUNG, Mr. OR Ching Fai and Mr. HONG Yongmiao as independent non-executive directors.